Excessive Amount of Spam from Bot(s) Using Outlook.com E-Mail Addresses

By | August 31, 2013

I recently changed andrewpearson.org from an entirely static site, to one that is dynamic and WordPress-powered (and therefore susceptible to bots that try to spam WordPress comments). Since then, I have received a tremendous amount of spam from bots providing outlook.com addresses:

If you look at the left column above, you see that each post is by a “different” commenter with an 8 character name and 7 character outlook.com e-mail address.  A disproportionate (all?) of my spam over the last several days or weeks has followed this pattern.  Of the first 5 IP addresses shown in the image above, geoiptool.com shows that 4 of the IP addresses correspond to hosts in China (Xian, Shanghai, Guangzhou, and Zhengzhou), and one corresponds to a host from Columbus, Ohio.

Is this just a really crappily written bot that hardly attempts to disguise itself and has been particularly active lately?  Why only use outlook.com addresses?

I would be interested to know if anyone else is encountering this (or these) bot(s), or has any additional information about what I’m seeing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *